Declinación Magnética

Magnetic Declination is formed by Aimar Arriola, José Manuel Bueso, Eduardo Galvagni, Juan Guardiola, Sally Gutiérrez, Julia Morandeira, Diego del Pozo and Silvia Zayas.

Magnetic Declination is an artistic collective formed by theorists, curators, and visual artists. MD’s work is based on post/decolonial approaches that seek to dismantle the imagery and the discourses underpinning Spain’s mainstream historical narratives. In parallel, MD also explores hybrid methodologies arising from the intersection of different artistic and research strategies in the field of practice and knowledge production. One of main lines of MD’s work comprises a series of audio-visual productions where different fictional, non-fictional, and essay-like styles and formats are mobilised in a re-examination of Spain’s (and Europe’s) colonial background as it unfolds historically into the present, especially in the light of the current global crisis.